top of page
  • Writer's pictureMat

Which Camera Should I Buy?


This feels like the biggest decision you can make. So let me put you at ease.


I've made my share of mistakes buying cameras and finally learned to get it right. I asked all the wrong questions, so the answers I got didn't help me. Now I know what I should have been thinking about.


Here are the principles that I use to buy a camera. I won't recommend anything to you that I wouldn't buy myself. In fact, I could build a whole new photography life from scratch with any one of these camera and lens combos.


Guiding Principles


Double your budget.


Whatever your budget is, double it. If you're going to invest in photography, don't be cheap about it. I'm not saying you have to break the bank. I'm going to show you the least expensive cameras and lenses.


Are you in this for the thrill of photography, or to get a deal?


Take it from me, starting out cheap will cost you in the end.


You're not just buying a camera, you're buying lenses too.


Most people don't realize this (even I didn't believe it for years). You're not just buying a camera. You ask me what camera you should buy, but the lenses are actually more important. A lot of people are disappointed with their new camera - a lot! But it's not actually the camera they are disappointed in, it's the lenses.


The lens determines the look of your photo.


You can always just get one lens with your camera and then buy more later on. Grow your selection of lenses as you grow as a photographer.


What do you want to take pictures of?


When you tell me what you want to take pictures of, I can help you choose the right lenses. Remember that it's the lens that gives the photo it's look.


Trying to be cheap, I invested in all the wrong lenses. Then I had to re-buy them. I won't let that happen to you.


You will upgrade your camera over the years but keep all the lenses.


If you love photography then you'll be using your camera and lenses a lot. Eventually, the camera is going to wear out or become so outdated that it is worth upgrading it.


But the good news is that you can keep all your lenses to use with your new camera!


Buy a new camera and the most recent model you can find.


I don't trust used cameras. They're not that much cheaper. Used cameras are often out of date and might have been damaged. Going for a deal may cost you more in the end. A new camera is in tip top shape and comes with a warranty (those warranties have come in handy for me).


You can amazing deals on outdated cameras. But you're investing in something that you will use for years. Pay a little more for the most recent camera you can get.


Camera + lenses + education.


You're not just buying the right camera, you've got to buy the right lenses. Once you've got them, you need to learn to use them. I've written a quick article about getting started, and offer a camera setting class and a 4 week course. You can also find a lot of other help online (articles, courses, etc.).


Don't invest in a camera and then skip the education. And don't expect it to be easy. Ready to work hard, fail, fail, fail, but keep trying until you get it right? Good!


The basic stuff is the trickiest to learn. But once you've got i, it becomes easy. And the advanced stuff will be super easy to learn.


All brands are the same.


When I was choosing my first camera the big decision was Nikon or Canon? I asked photographers why they chose Nikon and they said, "I don't know. I wish I had chosen Canon." I asked photographers why they had chosen Canon and they said, "I don't know. I wish I had chosen Nikon."


Nobody knows what they're doing at first.


But I've discovered that all cameras brands are the same. There are more differences between various Nikon cameras than there are between Nikon vs Canon overall.


All cameras are the same, the buttons are just in different places.


Don't sweat over choosing a brand.


I'm going to show you Canon and Nikon cameras and lenses because they are the most popular and easiest to find.


I'm also going to show you Fuji cameras because I'm in love with them.


None of this is an official endorsement of these products. I don't make a commission for sharing this information. I'm just letting you know what is out there and what I would be willing to buy myself.


Please go try these cameras and lenses before buying them. Do your homework. Make your own decision.


These images are screenshots from Henrys.com Visit their website for current prices and availability.


PS - Cameras go on sale several times per year. You almost never have to pay full price and usually get discounts for buying more at once.


Nikon


Nikon Camera Body


Remember, you're purchasing a camera and the lenses. Many cameras will come bundled with at least one lens.


The first camera that I'll show you is called the D3500. This is the entry level Nikon camera and the cheapest one you can get. It's a great up to date camera. With the right lens it will take great photos in low light situations.


The first one comes with a lens bundled with it. It is an 18-55mm lens (don't worry if you don't know what that means yet). It's a zoom lens that goes from nice and wide to zoomed in a little. It's not a good lens for low light situations or for photographing things in the distant. But it is a handy everyday lens.


If you love to photograph nature, you can quickly go from a wider angle landscape photo, to a zoomed in photo of a flower. I have an older lens that is very similar to this one.




This is the same camera but with no lens. This is how I buy my cameras now since I already own all the lenses I need.



The following camera is the D5600. It's a step up from the D3500. The main difference with this camera is that it comes with a flip out rotatable screen that is perfect for holding the camera low to the ground or above your head for fun angles. It's more expensive. But, for me, the screen is worth every penny.


Notice that this comes bundled with that standard 18-55mm lens. You could purchase this camera body on it's own too.



Nikon Lenses


Remember, it's really the lens that gives your photo the look.


Here's where you need to keep in mind what you're going to be photographing. If you're photographing things in the distance then you will want a telephoto zoom lens. If you love portraits of people or animals then you will want a good portrait lens.


Telephoto Zoom Lenses


I'm showing you 3 lenses here.


Remember the 18-55mm lens that I talked about earlier? Well this 55-200mm lens picks up right where that one leaves off. This one will let you zoom into things off in the distance.


You will also see a 70-300mm lens. It's very similar but let's you zoom in a bit further.


The last one is an 18-300mm lens. It goes from wide angle (18mm) to telephoto (300mm). This was my dream-come-true lens when they released it a few years ago. The only reason that I didn't buy it is because I moved away from Nikon to Fuji. You can read about that love affair down below.


Who needs 2 lenses (18-55mm + 70-300mm) when you can have both lenses in one? It's about double the price of 2 separate lenses though. Ouch.


Note - None of these telephoto zoom lenses are very good in low light.





Nikon Portrait Lenses


Now, listen to me. Not buying one of these portrait lenses was the BIGGEST mistake I ever made as a photographer. I do own one now, but Fuji made me pay 4 times the price (told you being cheap catches up with you).


These lenses are amazing for lower light situations (most indoor photos). And they help you get that nice out-of-focus background look to your photo.


These are "portrait lenses," but they're perfect for everyday use and nature walks.


The thing is, they don't zoom at all. They are what they are and you have to move yourself to get closer or further away from your subject.


Buy one of these lenses!





You buy a camera body, but it's just a body. You buy lenses that help you get the look you want for your photos. Dramatic wide angles, crisp portraits, zoomed in nature shots. Build your collection of lenses over time.

 

Canon


Camera Body


The first digital camera that I ever used was a Canon Rebel. Canons are every bit as good as the Nikon cameras I showed you. Just a different brand name.


Below you will see the Rebel T7 and the Rebel T7ii. You can compare the features on each one here. You won't go wrong with either one. And the extra features may or may not be worth the extra 400 bucks to you.


Notice that they both come bundled with the 18-55mm like the Nikon one I discussed. It's a zoom lens that goes from nice and wide to zoomed in a little. It's not a good lens for low light situations or for photographing things in the distant. But it is a handy everyday lens.





Canon Lenses


Remember, it's really the lens that gives your photo the look.


Here's where you need to keep in mind what you're going to be photographing. If you're photographing things in the distance then you will want a telephoto zoom lens. If you love portraits of people or animals then you will want a good portrait lens.


Canon Telephoto Zoom Lenses


Great for photographing things in the distance.


First up is the 55mm-250mm. Similar to the Nikon options. This lens picks up where your 18-55mm lens leaves off.


You'll also see the 18-200mm lens. This goes from nice and wide to quite zoomed. Similar to Nikon's 18-300mm, just dones't zoom in quite as far.


Note - None of these telephoto zoom lenses are very good in low light.




Canon Portrait Lens


Just like the Nikon version, this is an amazing lens for achieving out of focus backgrounds and works well in lower light situations. This is a must have for portraits of people and pets, or everyday use.


Note that the lens does not zoom.



 


Fuji


This is the moment that I have been waiting for. I love Fuji cameras because they're a little smaller, very quiet and they give you super powers.


You know that disappointing feeling of seeing an awesome moment, snapping a photo and then looking at the back of your camera to see a crappy photo? That doesn't happen with Fuji cameras.


When you look through the viewfinder of a Fuji camera you see your photo exactly as it will appear when you take it. There are no surprises, if something isn't right then you can make an adjustment before you take the photo.


I found Fuji cameras far easier to learn camera settings on.


Fuji Camera Body


Below are two Fuji camera bodies. I actually recommend buying the body only and then selecting your own lenses rather than the standard lens that comes bundled with the camera. But all that is up to you.


These are not the cheapest of the Fuji camera bodies. There is a cheaper one with no viewfinder, you just look at the back of the camera to take the photo. There is another cheaper one that has a different set of controls. I selected these two because they are the ones that I would buy. You make you own decision based on your needs.


These bodies are comparable to the Canon and Nikon cameras I showed you. Except that they are smaller and have the electronic viewfinder so that you can see exactly how your photo will look before you take it.




Fuji Lenses


Fuji lenses tend to be a bit pricier. At this point I don't care. I've learned that photography is more about the joy of creativity than it is about penny pinching. Does it hurt a little when I order a new Fuji camera or lens? Yes. But I suffer for my art!


Fuji Standard Zoom Lens


Remember the 18-55mm that Canon and Nikon have? Well Fuji has a better (and pricier) version. Theirs does a little better in low light.




Fuji Telephoto Zoom Lens


Again, great for travel, nature, wildlife and zooming into to distant object.




Fuji Portrait Lens


Just like the Canon and Nikon portrait lenses, this one is great for low light, blurry backgrounds, and everyday use. I have the more expensive version of this lens and it NEVER leaves my camera.


Your First Step


What if you buy the wrong camera?


You really can't buy the wrong camera. Any camera is capable of taking great photos.


I highly recommend buying the newest camera you can. You might just as well have the best technology available. You do not need to upgrade every time they release a new camera. Buy the best you can and then learn to use it.


This is where most people fail big time. They do not learn to use their new camera. They might have got a great deal but it's an absolute waste of money because they never really use the camera.


Once you've got your camera, come to The Camera Setting Class. I'll help get you going. If you want more help then come to the longer course. By the end you'll be comfortable with your camera, you'll have learned the creative elements of photography, and you'll have had lots of feedback on your photos.


Keep Learning


Taking a great photo has little to do with the camera, more to do with the lens, but mostly it's about you. Will you learn the creative principles? Will you accept the call to adventure? Will you go all in?


I've got a growing collection of articles on this website to help you on your way.



I also write for one of the biggest photography websites, Digital Photograph School. Check out my author page for the 50 articles and tutorials I've written.

bottom of page